New Year’s Re-sew-lution: A new “diet” that means you can eat anything you want…

Happy New Year!

It’s traditional to have some kind of new dieting regime in the New Year, but this year, I’m going to do something a little different – and as this is a sewing blog, it has a lot to do with that!

For a while, I’ve thought about giving up RTW (ready-to-wear) clothing, and I’ve decided to take the plunge and do it as one of my 2015 Re-sew-lutions. I got the idea of doing a RTW “diet” from Sarah of Goodbye Valentino, who ran a RTW fast in 2014, however, while her fast included sewing absolutely everything, I’m going to allow a couple of exceptions (hence why I’m dieting, not fasting!):

  • Underwear, socks & tights
  • Outerwear & shoes
  • Activewear

I’m allowing these as I don’t want my sewing to become a chore – it is my hobby, and so it should be fun and relaxing! I have no particular desire to sew any of those things at the moment, and so I will buy them if I need to.

I am also factoring in ‘emergencies’ – like last summer, when I found myself going on holiday with a suitcase full of summer dresses and only one pair of trousers when there was a forecast of solid rain… dashing out to buy trousers on the morning of departure from my parents’ house was stressful enough, never mind if I had had to sew something in that time! Of course, I’m hoping that it won’t come to using the emergency card – for one thing, I plan on being a little more organised about packing my bags this year! It just means that if I do, for whatever reason, need to buy anything, it’s not going to be the end of the world!

So, instead of buying new clothes, I will be:

  • Making new clothes! I have a pretty hefty stash that I am hoping to work through (at least partially) this year. I might also finally finish knitting that first jumper…
  • Buying second hand: I’m lucky enough to live in an area with a lot of fairly decent charity and vintage shops, so will try to make the most of them.
  • Re-fashioning: I’ve had a few successes with cutting up old garments and making them into something new – I’m sure that more will follow…

    Simplicity 3833 made up from an old batik suit given to me by my Grandma.
  • Re-fitting: Anything lurking at the back of my wardrobe that no longer fits will be either adjusted to fit, or will be given away!
  • Mending – adding patches, fixing holes and reviving tired clothes.

I’m feeling really excited about this new challenge, and hope you’re interested in hearing more about it as I go through the year!

Thanks for reading 🙂

x

3 thoughts on “New Year’s Re-sew-lution: A new “diet” that means you can eat anything you want…

  1. Great idea! I did this last year although not formally. I can’t remember buying anything RTW apart from tights, etc. I made some things out of old bed sheets and curtains. I even made a couple of pairs of my own knickers: you might enjoy it, it was fun!!
    Good luck and have fun! Love the batik dress by the way! You’ve inspired me to do it again this year and I might document it in my blog too! I’ll keep an eye on yours to see what you’re making!

Leave a Reply

