Me-Made-May Volume II

Hi Everyone! Here’s a round up of this week’s outfits!

Tuesday 5th May
Refashioned gingham shirt made in Spring 2014

Front door shot!
Front door shot!

This is made out of a shirt I bought at a charity shop last year. Before I refashioned it, it looked like this:

DSCN4694I decided to leave the button placket, collar and yoke as they were,  chop off the sleeves, and take the sides in a bit. I used Simplicity 2154 to add in bust and front darts, leaving the back loose. DSCN4699I used bias binding to finish the armholes and hem. Unfortunately, my hand slipped while I was cutting out the pattern – resulting in this:

DSCN4696
Disaster strikes!

Luckily this was easily remedied by some iron-on interfacing. I also moved the patch pocket to cover this up from the right side.

Fixed!
Fixed!

There are a few fitting issues, but I do love wearing this shirt! It will definitely do until I find the right gingham to make a complete replacement. One of the wonderful things about it is that it’s polycotton – I don’t usually like using man-made fibres, but there are certainly benefits. It doesn’t need ironing and dries quickly, so can be rotated frequently (as you’ll see below…)

Cost:
XL Shirt from vintage shop: £5
Thread: £1.70
TOTAL: £6.70

Wednesday 6th May
Black floral Lady Skater
DSCN4865Blogged here. My flatmate kindly agreed to let me borrow his tripod for the month. I’m still getting to grips with taking photos of myself!

Thursday 7th May
Gingham blouse and navy pencil skirt (made August 2014)

DSCN4870
I was in a rush so didn’t manage to get a good picture of the full length of the skirt. It hits just below the knee.

As I mentioned above… this blouse gets worn a lot!

The pencil skirt is from Gertie’s New Guide to Better Sewing, made in a dark navy twill from Cloth House. Despite the muslin fitting well, I think the lack of give in the skirt fabric means that it doesn’t fit brilliantly, making it look like I’ve got a bit more of a belly than I have! (Or maybe that’s just me being over-sensitive!) It’s also a pain to cycle in as it’s a pencil skirt. Because of this, I don’t wear it all that much. (plus, it needs a lot of ironing!)

I’d originally wanted the skirt to be black, but clearly didn’t look at the fabric carefully enough before I bought it! It’s a very dark navy, meaning I can’t wear it with black, or a lot of other navy clothes! All in all, this is not really a success. As I don’t wear pencil skirts too often (due to cycling everywhere, and because it looks best with heels), I probably won’t bother making this again for a while.

Cost:
1m navy twill (Cloth House): £14Standard skirt zip: £1.50
Lining fabric: £6
TOTAL: £21.50

Friday 8th May
Birdy Blouse

Photo taken by my friend Tom outside the Pitt Rivers museum, Oxford
Photo taken by my friend Tom outside the Pitt Rivers museum, Oxford

 Blogged here.

This top is another that is in regular rotation! It dries super quickly, so is often used in an emergency when I need to do a wash 😉 Unfortunately, it does get rather static… doesn’t stop me wearing it though!

My friends Tom and Lauren came down to visit for the weekend, so they went to the museum while I was finishing work. Within 5 minutes of meeting up, I’d insisted that one of them take a photo of my outfit – thanks guys 🙂

Saturday 9th May
Floral Sorbetto

Christ Church Meadow, with view of Oxford behind. Thanks again to Tom for the photo!
Christ Church Meadow, with view of Oxford behind. Thanks again to Tom for the photo!

A repeat from last week! See here for more details on construction etc. At least you have the nice view in the background for variety! I took my friends on a tour of Oxford, including one of my favourite places to walk / jog – Christ Church Meadow. It’s so pretty! And has lovely views. We also climbed Carfax tower before having lunch, followed by excellent milkshakes at G&Ds (an ice-cream parlour that has become an Oxford institution).

Sunday 10th May

This morning I ran the Oxford Town & Gown 10km race, before cooking a massive brunch for visiting friends and family. I don’t have any me-made exercise gear, and since then I have been lounging around at home in jogging bottoms… so have excused myself from a photo today. Is it cheating on MMM if I don’t get properly dressed??

All in all, I’ve had a lovely weekend catching up with people! I’m hoping for some slightly warmer weather this week, so I can crack out some of my handmade summer dresses… as it is, I’ve been more in a mood to wear trousers/ jeans than black opaque tights. I’ll try to make more of an effort this week!

4 thoughts on “Me-Made-May Volume II

Leave a Reply

