Mesa Mark I

IMG_0889Like pretty much everyone else in the sewing world, I was excited when Sarai at Colette Patterns announced Seamwork Magazine back in January. I’ve really enjoyed reading the magazine this year, but hadn’t bought any of the patterns until the Mesa dress suddenly came onto my radar last month, probably through the gorgeous versions by RED and Bianca.

I’ve got quite a stash of short lengths of jersey, and I thought that this would be a great stashbuster for those. They are mainly lengths that I bought intending to make t-shirts… until I realised I don’t really wear t-shirts that often. Dresses however, I wear almost every day!

I decided to start with this lovely jersey that I bought last year from Goldhawk Road – I think it’s a viscose jersey, and the printed flowers are flocked. In tune with the weather recently, I decided it would make a great work dress to start the autumn!

Not enough for the sleeves - urgh
Not enough fabric for the sleeves – urgh

After reading that the dress comes up quite short, I decided to cut the pattern to the 3XL. According to my measurements, I needed a medium in the bust / waist and a large in the hips – I didn’t want anything too clingy! I didn’t quite have enough fabric to cut the sleeves unfortunately, so I decided to leave it sleeveless! I actually ended up chopping off around 3 inches from the hem – so would have had enough fabric for sleeves had I done this from the start. Oh well!

Before I took the sides in a little
Before I took the sides in a little

Mesa is advertised as only taking an hour to sew – perhaps that’s the case if you’ve got a proper sewing area and everything ready to sew. This definitely isn’t possible if you’ve got a teeny sewing space and have to keep switching which machine you’ve got on your table! However, even with switching around and fitting changes, I would guess that the whole thing took me about 3 hours.

I sewed up the sides and shoulders on my overlocker, and finished all the edges with my Bernina. I actually used the twin needle for the first time and I was really pleased with the result!

Twin needle goodness!
Twin needle goodness!

All in all, I’m really happy with this pattern – in fact I’ve already got another one lined up on my sewing table! This time, it’s going to be even shorter… and have sleeves!

Comedy shot of the back!
Comedy shot of the back!

Have you made any of the Seamwork patterns?

8 thoughts on “Mesa Mark I

  1. Your Mesa came out so lovely! You know, I never thought about making a sleeveless one, but I’ll have to do that for next summer. I’m wanting to attempt a long-sleeved version with sweater-type fabric for the winter, so we’ll see how that turns out! Thanks for the shout out, by the way! 😉 Cheers!

    1. Thanks 🙂 I am now completely obsessed with this pattern – I’ve got a load of versions in my head waiting to be made!
      I really liked reading your blog, will definitely be keeping an eye out for the sweater-mesa, sounds fab!
      x

  2. I love this dress on you! Shame about the sleeves, but I think the dress is very wearable as it is. I love how the colour combination!

Leave a Reply

