Autumn / Winter Sewing Plans

Waaay back in one of my Me-Made-May posts, I said that I would need to make more warm clothing, to suit the English weather. After another summer filled with lovely sundresses that I barely wore because it wasn’t warm enough, I’ve decided that my autumn plans need to include some cosy handmades that will see me through to spring!

So, here are my plans!
1. Blouses:

Granville

A Sewaholic Granville in dark blue linen. This is the last of my summer makes, as I was hoping that it would be a good transition piece from late summer – autumn. As you can see, it’s nearly finished, which I’m delighted about because it has been a bitch! I’ll post it when it’s all done – with all the horrid details of how this shirt NEARLY finished me off (but I remain triumphant – and I will be definitely making another just to show it who’s boss).

IMG_1037Colour scheme much? Sorry for the slightly blurry photos – my phone wasn’t playing ball.

The wavy pattern and bottom check fabrics are both from the Cloth House remnants bin πŸ™‚ They are both short pieces, destined to be simple blouses – I’m thinking either a blouse version of the Laurel, or a lenthened Bettine.

The navy / red check is destined to be another Granville (once I’ve got a few palate cleansers out of the way!). It’s a scrummy linen shirting.

2. Dresses (woven):

-Dress for a friend’s wedding!

This is going to be a dress for my lovely friend Izzie’s wedding in 2 weeks (eek!) I’m muslining this weekend and then will be making it up with this lovely lawn:

IMG_0999

-The ‘practical but actually can I be bothered to make this?’ dress:
I’m not even putting in a picture of the fabric – it’s a navy peachskin. Lovely, but urgh so dull (do you get that I don’t like sewing with plan fabric yet?). To make this more exciting, I’m going to use the new Sew Over It Joan pattern, I think. This is a dress I desperately need, as I could do with some more proper smart clothes for work.

3. PJs

IMG_1039
Both these fabrics are camera shy… they didn’t come out very well 😦

The top is a cotton knit with poor recovery. I wasn’t sure what to make, but when I decided to make PJ bottoms with the check fabric, I realised it was a pretty good match for the top πŸ™‚ The check is one that I ‘acquired’ from my mum’s stash – it’s possibly older than I am, and is super lovely and soft. Not quite sure what pattern I’ll use yet.

4. Knits πŸ™‚
Errr, all the knits.

IMG_1038

-Liberty Rose Sweatshirting: this is going to be a cropped jumper for work. And a new pair of jogging bottoms for around the house. I’ll use the Seamwork Astoria pattern for the jumper. Not sure what I’ll use for the jogging bottoms yet. (Fabric from the Oxford Market – I may bankrupt myself yet buying fabric, but I can’t afford that stuff full price!)

-Motorbike Jersey: this is going to be a Mesa shortened into a t-shirt, as I’m really happy with how this pattern fits me. Fabric from Girl Charlee UK.

-Red/ Purple jersey: another Mesa – this time with 3/4 length sleeves. I have to actively stop myself wearing my 2 current Mesas too much, so I need more of these!! This gorgeous fabric was a birthday present from my sewing friend Leire πŸ™‚

-Blue/ purple roses and fuchsia 80s print: these are both going to be wrap dresses using McCalls 6884. The rose print is another one from the market, and the fuchsia is one from my Grandma’s stash.

-Black/ white spot: after the success of my first lady skater/ moneta mashup, this will be another, with 3/4 sleeves for a bit of warmth. The fabric is an Art Gallery Fabrics cotton jersey with 5% stretch I think. It’s pretty lovely.

Phew! So that’s the bulk of what I’ll be doing over the coming months. What about you, are you sewing for the weather?

x

One thought on “Autumn / Winter Sewing Plans

Leave a Reply

